Stand up

Posted: September 10, 2009 in Uncategorized

There comes a time in one’s life when one must stand up for what he or she believes in. Sometimes digging your toes in the sand is hard, and sometimes it can have repercussions. But, if it is something you feel passionately about, if it is something you truly believe in, such repercussions are expected, and more often than not, welcome.

Today I stood up to a bully. Today I stood up to hate and intolerance and ignorance. Today I said “enough” and pushed back. Today I used the power of my words to combat what I found to be gregarious and outlandish idiocy. Today I alienated myself from family. And today, I could not feel better about it.

By now, I am quite sure you have realized that you brought a knife to a gunfight. You probably didn’t expect me to fight back. You probably expected me to fall in line like the rest of the sheep; to fall in line with your beliefs; to agree with the values that I was not raised with; to agree with your hollow view of what is right and wrong. You assumed that just because I have the same last name, because I come from the same bloodline, that I would subscribe to your petty notions of hatred. Look who’s the ass now–you, not me. You’ve forced your thoughts, your views, your opinions down our throats for way too long.

It.
Ends.
Today.

I struck the match and set the bridge alight. Burn baby, burn.

If you want to get into a battle of wits, you better come armed.
–Dad

jbr

Leave a Reply

