Goodbye, old friend

Posted: July 16, 2009 in Uncategorized

Yesterday, I lost one of my closest friends. Him and I had been very close over the last couple of years, and while I am devastated that he is out of my life, I will admit that his death had been expected. Nevertheless, I wanted to give my buddy one final shout out.

Ray-Ban sunglasses, you and I went through a lot over the last three years. Despite your scratches, and despite the fact that I sat on you that one time, you continued to keep my eyes safe from harmful UV rays, while ensuring that I always looked stylish. You’ve seen the world with me and stuck by my side through thick and thin. You forgave me for the time I left you in Arkansas and had to have you shipped home. Remember that? I knew you were so scared to be trapped in that box for a couple of days, but you pulled through it and earned my respect because of it.

I’m going to miss you, Ray-Ban. I know, I know, I can get another pair, but they will never be as good as you. It has been said that your first is always the one you remember the most, and Ray-Ban, I will always remember you and cherish my moments with you the most. Thanks for being such a good friend. Thanks for conforming to my face so splendidly. But most of all, thanks for keeping the sun out of my eyes. It takes a special friend to do that and you, Ray-Ban, were indeed a special friend. Next time I crack open a cold one after a long day in the sun, I’ll be sure to tip one out to you, homey.

I’m sorry, I have to go regain my composure.

My sunglasses are like my guitar.
–Patti Smith

jbr

Leave a Reply

