One of the reasons

Posted: May 5, 2009 in Uncategorized

I have always considered myself a fairly well-read and savvy individual. I keep up with current events, and have long had an understanding of the political system. For as long as I can remember, I held onto conservative political values. This was due, in large part, to being raised in a Republican household. Even looking back, I see no harm in that. My parents were raised with the same values, and it is only natural to pass them down to your children.

About a year, year and a half ago, I found myself in a political conundrum. I noticed that much of my political philosophy was shifting. Part of this was due to the situations we have found ourselves, as a nation, mired in. Flailing economy; two Unwinnable Wars (Iraq and the War on Drugs); environmental irresponsibility. I noticed that I no longer held the political values I was raised with, and as a product of this, I began discovering that much of the left-leaning political philosophies fit my personal values more than the right-leaning political philosophies.

All of this, of course, came to head this past November when I cast my vote for Obama and helped to usher in a new and exciting era in this country. Since that day, I have rarely thought about my “switch” again (minus that one time I decided to berate Cheney, Spawn of the Devil), until today.

Perusing my online newspapers today, I came across a story on CNN about gun owners, which you may find here http://www.cnn.com/2009/US/05/04/ammo.shortage/index.html. After reading this article, there is another reason I switched teams: paranoia.

How ridiculous is it that gun owners have decided to hoard ammunition? Are you really so afraid that one man is going to take away your precious, and wholly unnecessary, automatic weapons? Are you really so afraid that one man (who, by the way, does not have absolute authority…there are three branches of government for a reason) is going to swiftly and without warning enact a law that makes all of your guns illegal? Really? Give me a break. That is about as likely as my spontaneously combusting right now.

The fear of change drives people to do crazy things, and this is one of them. Why does one person need 10,000 rounds of ammunition stored up? What exactly is this for? Invasion? Gun prohibition? The apocalypse? We live in the most free, most tolerant society in the world. We have the greatest democracy this planet has ever seen. We have the biggest and strongest military on the globe. Just because we have a black president doesn’t mean your guns are going to be taken away. Just because we have decided to move away from the cycle of political fear doesn’t mean that China is going to invade our country and make us all work in sweatshops. Just because the ultra-conservative Christian right has had their voice equalized by the voice of the rest of the country doesn’t mean that Satan is going to rain hell down upon this great nation of ours.

God gave each of you a brain, try to use it some time. Get over your fears of societal evolution and put a little faith into the others around you. The cycle of paranoia starts and ends with each of you. Don’t let our children live in a society afraid of its own shadow.

As long as there are guns, the individual that wants a gun for a crime is going to have one and going to get it.

–Ronald Reagan

jbr

Leave a Reply

