My how times have changed

Posted: February 8, 2009 in Uncategorized

On this lovely Sunday morning, I was cruisin’ around the ol’ Interweb and I stumbled across this lovely ad to the left. It reminded me how much has changed over the years, and I found it too priceless to resist a little commentary.

First of all, this woman looks quite relieved to have found Tampax. And after reading the ad, who could blame her? I don’t know what women have to endure, and I don’t pretend to, but good lord what did they have to endure many decades ago? I cringed at the thought of “belts” and “pins” and I have to wonder what that has to do with a woman’s vagina. Prior to the advent of Tampax, did women have to strap a pad on via a belt, and then pin that sucker in place? Where did they belt it to? Moreover, where the hell did they pin it? Or, do I really want to know? My morbid curiosity says I would like to hear how that works, but I’m not sure I could keep from fainting.

Also, you will notice that these Tampax have been designed for every “normal” woman. What, pray tell, classifies a woman as “normal” in that regard? And if a woman is not “normal,” does she still have to resort to strapping and pinning in her lady parts in order to keep her white pants from looking like a scene from Carrie?

It is interesting to see the evolution of man through such outdated advertisements. Next time a woman complains about having to deal with Aunt Flo, I should show her this ad and remind her how much worse it could be. I could remind her that Tampax has to be much more preferable than changing your own diaper for 3-5 days every month of the year. I am so glad I am a dude.

Advertising: the science of arresting the human intelligence long enough to get money from it.
–Stephen Leacock

jbr
Leave a Reply

