More Observations

Posted: December 7, 2008 in Uncategorized

Let me tell you, I’m sure ready to go home. While I think this experience has been delightful, sleeping until noon just isn’t my thing. Not to mention I’m going to miss the Cowboys game tonight (oh I get NFL, but the fucking Saints game, ugh). Bitching aside, here are a few more observations for today:

  • The Tube, i.e. the subway, has the steepest escalators I have ever seen. Being slightly acrophobic and incredibly clumsy, everytime I hop on one I think this could be the last time.
  • Brits love their coin money. I have a pocketful of change that I have no idea what to do with.
  • I’m longing for a fountain soda. Everything is room temperature here.
  • Cabbies here are just like cabbies everywhere else: they will take you the long route just to gouge you.
  • You don’t have to tip here. How fucking sweet is that? Probably because they don’t want to carry around a shitload of change either.
  • I wonder why everyone here is in such a hurry all the time. This appears to be a country full of Olympic-caliber speedwalkers.
  • Everyone bitches about it being cold. This isn’t cold. Spend a winter in the Midwest, then we’ll talk.
  • Everybody smokes but you can’t smoke inside anywhere. Nice to see that minority rules here too.

I think that’s it for now. Just a few random tidbits. I’m sure I could find more stuff to say, but then you wouldn’t come back and read more tomorrow. Oh, and on an unrelated note, fuck the Sooners. Although, if running up the score is the way to get your QB a Heisman, or to get to the National Championship, Mack Brown should take note and stop being a gentleman (look at the stats for the Longhorns and realize that they have only played their starters for three quarters in 2/3 of their games).

It has always been my rule never to smoke when asleep, and never to refrain when awake.
–Mark Twain

jbr

Leave a Reply

