The Day Before

Posted: November 30, 2008 in Uncategorized

You know, I have traveled quite a bit over the last three years. Big cities and small cities; warm and cold weather. I have been to the Caribbean and East Coast and West Coast and all points in between. I have not, however, been to the other side of the pond. And by pond I mean Atlantic Ocean. And by otherside I mean Eurpoe. As I prepare for a 10-day work related adventure to London tomorrow, I find that I am incredibly nervous about it, and I’m not sure why, but let me see if I can figure it out.

I don’t think I’m nervous about the people over there. They (as in Londoners) all speak English, even if they do spell things wrong. I don’t have to drive so driving on the wrong side of the road isn’t a concern. I have a friend over there so I won’t be lacking for anyone to hang out with. I can handle the cold weather and rain so, nope, that’s not it either.

I might be a little nervous about the food as I have heard it is, um, a little suspect. That is, of course, unless you like to eat kidneys which I do not. But I think what I am most nervous about is spending 7+ hours on a plane, sans cigarettes. I might be a little concerned that I’ll want to beat someone up by the time the flight is over. To combat this, I have loaded up with nicotine gum and things to keep me busy. Hopefully I can get through it without some incident showing up on the evening news.

So that’s my little confessional for this morning. Should I make it over there in one piece, I’ll be sure to make regular updates, if for nothing more than to make fun of the Brits. In the event of my demise, however, please bury all my toys with me. If this means that you have to get a box that is much to big for my 5’8″ frame, then so be it. It’s taken a lot of time to collect them and I’ll be damned if I want some little kids to get their grubby little paws on them.

You lose sight of things…when you travel, everything balances out.
–Daranna Gidel

jbr

Leave a Reply

