Insensitivity

Posted: June 30, 2008 in Uncategorized

Some folks have made mention to me that my dislike of Cajuns could be perceived as insensitive, perhaps even racially insensitive. Many people may feel that perception is reality, so let me clear the air of this perception, or perhaps even better, muddy the waters even further.

First, my dislike of Cajuns has nothing to do with race. In fact, I don’t even think Cajun is considered a race. For example, if I were to dislike the French, one would not call that racial insensitivity either. If you were to come up to me and tell me that my dislike of Cajuns is racially insensitive, I would tell you to look up the word “racial” in the dictionary, give you 35 cents, and then tell you to call me when you are ready to tell me you mispoke (and I would probably give you the finger).

As for the dislike in general, I guess I shouldn’t generalize my dislike for Cajuns, or say that I hate Cajuns as a people per se. Mind you, I have never met one that hasn’t gotten under my skin like a tick on steroids, but I am sure there are some Cajuns out there that are quite nice, if you can get past the accent and/or language. And therein, my friends, lies the problem. It’s not so much the person as it is the jibberish that is spoken and passed off as a language. Couple that with the accent that sounds like a thousand cats being run over by a bulldozer, and you have my receipe for annoyance. The language and accent are so over the top that you might as well be speaking Pig Latin with Tourette’s and a lisp, that’s how made up it sounds. Even with that in mind, I am sure you will all agree, I think it is easier to just say that I hate Cajuns and not explain why (even though I know what I mean by it). Call me lazy I guess.

I wonder if Canadians feel the same way about French Canadians.

So shines a good deed in a weary world.
–Willy Wonka

LongStar

Leave a Reply

