Redemption

Posted: June 5, 2008 in Uncategorized

I think a level of redemption is in order. It seems that I grossed a few people out yesterday and while I am not sorry for it, I think it would be best to put something a little less fishy on your taste buds for the upcoming weekend. I will admit, however, that I’m not sure that I have anything overly hilarious to discuss this morning, but as usual, I do have something to say.

I like to complain as much as the next guy (or gal). I especially enjoy complaining about drivers, and bad service, and the way people dress. It makes me feel tough and strong and mean, and so I will most likely continue to bitch about such things until I am an old man, at which time I will bitch and moan about everything (except my ear hair, which I will pretend doesn’t exist). Idle complaining aside, there is some complaining that just gets in my crack like sand on a hot day. This complaining is more grandiose in nature and it seems to be a style of complaining that everyone takes part in at one point in time, some more than others.

We all know that life sucks from time to time; your job, your love life, your money, etc. I find no real issue with expressing yourself via bitching on these topics every so often; I think it is healthy and often you can find a partner in crime with such thoughts. Nevertheless, there is a line in the sand that is drawn with such complaining; the line that separates venting from habitual whining. Once you cross this line, and stay across the line, it is time for you to do something about it.

Complaining loses its effectiveness if you fail to temper such negativity with resolutions. If you want to complain about your life, complain about your job, fine, but do something about it. If you don’t wish to at least make some sort of attempt to rectify what ails you, shut your trap, grin and bear it like the rest of us, and move on. Nobody, and I mean NOBODY, wants to hear you cry over and over and over and over about some facet in life that you can change. For example, if your job sucks, get a new one. Yes, yes, we all have bad days, but if the bad days far outweigh the good ones, maybe it is time to move on. You’ll be happier, the people around you will be happier, and who knows, maybe this will improve other things in your life as well. On the other hand, if your job sucks and you don’t have the guts to do something about it, for the love of God, shut the hell up. I don’t have enough Kleenex for all the cry babies in the world and not to mention every time I have to throw you a Kleenex, a tree dies. Do you want that on your conscience?

Tough love is sometimes the best love. Before you ask, I am not talk about one person, but everyone in general. If you keep your eyes and ears open, you will begin to notice those that are addicted to complaining. Help them break the cycle and give all of our ears a break from the nails on the chalkboard.

Why does it say there is a paper jam when there is no paper jam?
–Samir


LongStar

Leave a Reply

