Breach of Contract

Posted: March 17, 2008 in Uncategorized

For those of you that have read my wild and wooly thoughts from the beginning, you will remember that I promised, in a manner of speaking, not to discuss “deep” issues, such as politics or religion. I will apologize now if my forthcoming rant constitutes a breach of contract, and while I do not plan to discuss such topics with any regularity, sometimes I just cannot help myself.

I admittedly drive a gas hog. Six years ago, when I purchased such guzzler of petro fuel, the price of gasoline was still reasonable. Back in August of 2002, the events of September 11th were still fresh in our minds; gasoline was still bounding upward, albeit slowly, from the $.89 a gallon that we saw immediately after the attacks on our country. I will also admit that, as a younger man in those days, I was not as wise as I am now and perhaps I did not have the forethought to purchase a vehicle that was a little more fiscally responsible. But with that aside (let me add a side here and advise my Readers that I purchased the aforementioned vehicle new, and it is almost paid off, so you can see my dilemma), never in a million years would I have suspected the cost of gas would have reached the plateaus it is reaching today.

I am, for the most part, not a conspiracy theorist, but at the same time, I do not bury my head in the sand. I am well versed on current events, and with such knowledge comes an opinion. Keeping this in mind, it seems silly that we, as taxpaying consumers in the United States of America, do not start to connect the dots and get to the root of why it costs some of us (not me personally, but close) upwards of $4.00 a gallon for gasoline. I am not going to get into a Michael Mooreish type of debate regarding GW and Cheney’s role in all of this, simply because I think Mr. Moore often grasps at straws and looks to incite a riot, possibly because he was decidedly unpopular as a child, I don’t know. I will, however, give you a little, as we say in the hip-hop industry, sumthin’ sumthin’ to think about.

First thing to consider is this: the oil companies, despite the issues in the Middle East, are still turning in record profits. We should all pose the following question: why? If they are paying so much per barrell of oil, why are they still turning over such a profit? Why can we not get a straight answer? Why does Congress not investigate this instead of wasting their time investigating steroids in baseball (it was “legal” in baseball at the time) or whether or not the New England Patriots videotaped a walk-through (the Eagles still would not have beaten the Patriots Arlen)? Have we as a nation become so desensitized by the lack of action by our elected officials that we turn a blind eye to this? It seems to me that all of the momentum is put behind the environmental impact that the oil industry has on the planet and less on the financial impact that the oil industry has on each of us as they bend us over the stall and take us for a ride.

The second thing to consider is the Middle East itself. Sure, we all know they hold the keys to the liquor cabinet, but do we know why they only let us have a drink on the weekends? It seems fairly obvious, and perhaps I am being too simple-minded about this, but…they hate us (and by “us” I mean the United States), pure and simple. The government and the media try to confuse us all by talking about oil production, and the cost per barrel, and blah blah blah, but let’s not mince words. They loathe us. They have always loathed us, and on some level, it is easy to see why. We as a nation supported the invasion of their land (1947) and continue to support a country (hello, Israel) that has just as many terroristic tendencies as its neighbors, but hides behind the veil of “military action.” And, of course, thanks to our current administration, we have, by proxy, supported the action to depose a leader that was reviled in the area and not a threat to anyone but himself, simply to carry out a vendetta for someone’s Daddy (because said Daddy didn’t have the stones to finish the job the first time). If you think about it that way, is it any wonder why they can charge the United States as much as they want per barrel of oil, and limit us to however much they want to give up?

The last thing to consider and this is more of whatever conspiracy theorist that lives inside me speaking, but if a gallon of gas is costing us so much money, how much is it costing the airline industry? A reasonable person would surmise that it is costing them quite a bit, but when you think about it, is it really? If the airline industry is paying a comparable amount for fuel that we as drivers are, is there a reason why airline tickets have not gone through the roof? Sure we have seen a gradual increase, but the price of just about everything gradually goes up. Could it be, and this is just my thought, that the United States government wants to keep us flying on vacation, and would like to discourage us from taking road trips by making the cost per gallon of gas impossible to manage on a drive of a substantial distance? Is this the government’s way of ensuring that the airline industry stays afloat? I can’t say for certain of course, but again, it is just something to think about.

These are the type of issues that we, as a country, as taxpayers, should be focusing on. Answers will only come to those that ask questions, and I believe that we owe it ourselves to interrogate the oil companies, and our government, with the same ferocity that they have raped our wallets over the last seven years.

Rally ‘round the family, with a pocket full of shells.
–RATM


LongStar

Leave a Reply

