Minutiae

Posted: February 8, 2008 in Uncategorized

Some days, as I’m sure each of you find, reflection upon the variances of the world comes easily. There are, of course, times where reflection is non-existent; times when we sit back and just ride the wave of life until we are washed ashore and covered in sand. I have found that, as I brush off the wet sand, this is when reflection is at it’s strongest, and perhaps it’s most valuable.

Today I reflect on my upbringing, and how it has shaped me into the person I am today. I have noticed that as I cruise from place to place in my life, from city to city and town to town, I am able to adapt quite easily. It makes me think of my chamelonesque (new word, don’t steal it, it’s mine) qualities. It dawned on me how quickly I learn the minutiae of a new place, and that blending in and becoming essentially invisible is a less than daunting task. Accents and clothes and sports and activities all change with each new place, and unless one adapts to such things, and quickly, one will find themselves wrapped in a web of misery and loneliness.

As a child, I was forced to adapt to each new place, and in many cases, I withdrew because it was easier to withdraw than to insert myself into each brave new world. I never thought about this fact growing up, it was just the way it was and I was fine with it. Nor did I ever struggle with depression or unhappiness, I just chose to keep the newbies at arm’s length because, chances were, I would move again soon. And this little nugget of information leads me to my point…

The tragedies of our youth may not become lessons until we become wise enough to understand they were really lessons, not just tragedies. Whether a person realizes it or not, you learn to deal with adversity; to deal with the imperfections and faults of others, and learn to overcome your own personal deficiencies and turn them into successes in love, friendship, and of course, life. We all see ourselves in a different light when we look at our reflections in the water. Some of us see ourselves as chameleons, others see ourselves as frightened children, but in the end we all see ourselves as the same thing: a human being.

And this, my friends, is how we are made, and this is what is so wonderful about being a human being…the uniqueness that goes along with being perfectly imperfect.

Today is the greatest day I’ve ever known
–Billy Corgan

LongStar

Leave a Reply

